top of page

Teaching & Self-Realization

When I first started playing the guitar I had no intention of teaching. I wanted to compose, perform, and tour and of course practice as much as possible. It was just over a decade ago that my projected path changed and I began teaching. Although I had shown a few licks or chords to people here and there, it had not become a serious endeavor until a young boy sat across from me with a timid look and guitar in hand.

My focus at that point was the complexity of jazz harmony, not strumming a C chord or learning to read basic melodies. At that point I realized that I had to step outside of my own interest and figure out the best way to help this young man experience the joy of playing guitar.

When I think back, the biggest challenge for me was breaking down the serious, no frills mindset I had so that I could fully engage!

For those of you who don't know me, on the outside I can come across as intimidating, quiet, serious, literal, and exuding qualities of an introvert. Those who are closer to me will know that I am also friendly, up for conversation, and can be goofy. It was more of the former that my earlier students experienced, mainly because I felt it was a necessity to be focused, disciplined, and void of emotion.

Over the last 10+ years I have taught students ages 4-80. I had the opportunity to teach a few college classes while a grad student and now am a professor. What I have come to realize, through self exploration and interaction with students, is that I don't need to me a harda**. The focus is not to be placed on the persona, but rather the bond that is formed. When I have a student that is comfortable with me, they are more likely to push ahead and embrace what I have to say. Why? Trust! (I'm not excluding discipline, but rather emphasizing the effects of building a bond and trust.)

Here's to many more years of guitar playing and teaching!

bottom of page