top of page

Uncertainty Is Normal: The Constant State Of Flux For The Gigging Musician

There was a time in 2014 when I had lined up what appeared to be 5 regular gigs a month. I had been living in the Cincinnati area for 4 years and had the opportunity to perform at most of all the major Jazz venues including The Blue Wisp and The Greenwich. It had taken patience and perseverance but I felt that I was finally creating momentum. I had even began making regular appearances on the local news (Local 12).

In a blink of an eye I had gone from a schedule filled with dates to maybe one or two regular gigs. Of course I still had the gigs that occurred every so many months or so, but inevitably, the bottom fell out. This is no rare occurrence, and many of the seasoned musicians can speak to this. However, it is still a punch in the face and can create this feeling of self-doubt.

This is the constant state of flux we face! My approach has been to persevere and not assume anything Keep moving, keep pushing to find the next gig and/or make the gig. Remember that you are a business and you can't wait for opportunities to come your way.

Grab your phone, send an email, contact a potential venue on Facebook/Instagram! Thinking of what was will not create performances, but action will!

bottom of page