top of page

Musical Mindset: How I've Coped By Turning To Music

I can easily remember the end of 1999 leading to Y2K. There was a great deal of excitement and anxiety as many made sure their stockpile of food and/or shelter were ready to what could be the end.

During this fear of computers crashing, I was immersed in guitar and the music of Metallica. I was imagining what it would be like to perform for the massive crowds they attracted, to travel nationally and internationally, and how it would feel to have my music touch so many lives. I would come home after school (high school) and do my best to play along with Master Of Puppets, One, Harvester Of Sorrow, Of Wolf And Man, and many more.

Leading up to this intense immersion I had noticed the strong pull music had on me and the way it would accent the inner turmoil as well as the happiness. I felt as though no one or anything could interfere with the bubble that surrounded me, that is until I was put to the biggest challenge I had faced up that point in my life.

On April 20th, 2000, 4 days before my birthday, I lost my grandma. Mom's mom had a huge impact on my life and taught me a great deal about doing great work, being respectful, and a multitude of other simple but effective life lessons. Two months later my grandpa died (dad's dad). Yet another very influential person in my life that taught me about doing great work. Because of the very close bonds I had with both, I immediately felt a huge void in my life.

As the days passed I quickly found that music and my obsession with guitar filled the void. Any sense of vulnerability in the internal wall became reinforced by the brute force of my desire to push ahead and to understand my new found voice.

Over the years since then not only have I turned to music during the low points, but also during the high points. Guitar and music have been around for every major event in some form or another. I even felt the need to play an original song at my wedding as my wife walked down the isle! My son now always asks me to turn on music when we play!

As I remember the passing years I find that I can put on any one of the many songs I've come to love and I immediately find myself back in a time and place long gone.

bottom of page