top of page

Social Media

When I first heard people talking about Facebook around campus I quickly took a stance of "Who Cares"! And although I followed the masses and created an account, I rarely posted, I didn't see the need, nor had the desire to "creep" on other people. The thought of "poking" someone or accepting an invite to play Farmville felt like a huge waste of time. It wasn't until just a few years ago that I began regularly posting. I began looking at Facebook as a tool.

Let's face it, what seemed like a fad is not going away. For the longest time I resisted social media but quickly began realizing the power of the multiple platforms. I even took it a step further and branched out to Instagram and YouTube. Over these last few years I've made online connections, spread my music, had people reach out to me in regards to setting up lessons, and have increasingly used these platforms to book gigs.

Some of the drawbacks is an increase in stress, anxiety, lack of focus, negativity, envy , and wasted time have. I will say that I'm not really one that idly picks up my phone to scroll through my feed. However, you can't completely eliminate everything you may see by just opening an app unless you choose not to open the app.

I've found one of my biggest downfalls has been the urge to "keep up", but what am I trying to keep up with? I've asked myself that question many times and have found the answer to be the feeling of urgency. Most of the time my introvert nature pushes back and leaves me with the urge to back out and shut down my accounts.

Let's also consider that there are those that have decided to stay away from social media and still pursue a career in music. This proves that it can be done, but you have to decide whether that's the path you want to follow. I find that a path down the middle works for me. Why not use the capabilities of the platform to further your career. Just remember that social medial is a tool used to connect. Don't become the tool.

bottom of page