top of page

2018 & The Long Game

It has been quite a year in all facets of my life and my family's lives this year. And though I may be able to discuss in depth the car issues, dog surgery, broken guitars, new windows, replaced appliances, the endorsement deal with DiMarzio, the podcast interviews, the memories with my song and wife, and the excitement of expecting a baby girl in 2019, I will instead take a more broad view of the past year.

I have to start by stating that I am very grateful for the opportunities I've had and continue to have in this career. Although I may not have accomplished those things I had hoped to, I understand that the year ending does not stop the continued endeavor. This is sometimes hard to accept, but what I do know is that I am patient and I am persistent.

That's the key! Persistence and patience mixed with the discipline to work at your craft can yield some great results. That's part of the long game.

One of the big lessons of this year for me has to be that I'm playing the long game and that many facets are at work in my life. For example, those things that I may have been able to do in my 20's is no longer relevant or ideal. I have a family and many responsibilities that help in directing my decisions which translates in to a delay of a new album release, or pursuing gigs that are further distances away. It's about priorities, and for all of us, these will change over time.

Speaking of priorities, I want to finish this year by saying thanks to all of you that have and continue to support me! Thanks to my family, friends, all of the musicians I've had the opportunity to make music and memories with, to the venues that have given me a space to create, and especially to God. I hope you have had a great year and I wish you a Happy New Year!

bottom of page