top of page

Don't Wait For The Call

I did not follow the usual approach to finding gigs after college. I've heard so many musicians, especially in the realm of jazz, that make mention to going out to jam sessions to meet other players. Before I go further, I do want to make it clear that I am in no way against this method. I understand the importance!

There was a sense of urgency after graduating. (I was about to get married and of course I had to start preparing for the student loan payments on top of the usual expenses!) Once I moved into the Cincinnati area I immediately began looking for opportunities to teach and perform. I lined up a number of teaching gigs rather quickly. The performance side was a bit slower but I was able to line up some solo dates.

"How do you find and book gigs?"

I've had this question asked often. One of the first things I had done was to pick up the phone book and start calling restaurants, art museums or places that hosted art exhibits, coffee shops, known jazz venues in the area, etc. I was told a number of times that there was no music at the particular location. I was also asked "Where did I hear there was music here? Because there isn't!" None of this stopped me, I just kept calling and even had particular venue give me names of other venues to check out and the person to contact.

With this approach it has meant that I'm not usually a sideman. I also perform at least once a weekend (usually not weekdays other than Friday due to my teaching schedule) if not more. Over time the relationships build with the venues and other opportunities line up.

I felt and still feel the need to keep pushing and to be proactive as opposed reactive. Especially now with a family, house, etc. The take away? When I'm asked for advice I respond with:

Don't wait for the call, make the call!"

bottom of page